lanekillo.blogg.se

Piaware better than planeplotter
Piaware better than planeplotter




piaware better than planeplotter
  1. PIAWARE BETTER THAN PLANEPLOTTER HOW TO
  2. PIAWARE BETTER THAN PLANEPLOTTER PRO
  3. PIAWARE BETTER THAN PLANEPLOTTER SOFTWARE

I doubled my range over dongles without an amp. I've used other USB SDR dongles and added amps but FlightAware's built in amp is super simple and provides better results than I've had with any other setup. It's just the best dongle around for it's intended use, and an amazing value for its price point. With a sub-ideal setup in NYC i am able to track aircraft from Boston to DC. I've used the standard nooelec, the TXCO nooelec, and the RTL-SDR dongles in my rig, and this one has beaten them all hands down. We experienced lower than usual overnight lows last night, and the offset shifted approximately 5PPM, whereas the NooElec dongle would fluctuate <2PPM overnight, and the dongle would fluctuate <0.5PPM no matter what temperature it was operating in. The oscillator appears to be less stable than the NooElec model. not enough to drop a star, but definitely worth noting. With a 40 degree overnight temperature swing, the offset shifted approximately 6PPM, whereas the NooElec would swing no more than 2PPM. The crystal appears to be less stable with temperature swings than even the NooElec dongle. Small edit not worth enough to drop a star. My maximum range also increased from 240NM to 270NM. Truly a fantastic and cheap(!) piece of hardware for any aviation transponder enthusiast.įor my personal experience, messages from 200NM+ increased by 15-20x, 160-200NM increased by 5x, and 120-160NM increased by 2.5x.

PIAWARE BETTER THAN PLANEPLOTTER HOW TO

I was running unamplified prior to installation, so I suspect that's where the biggest gains are, but instead of worrying about how to power an amplifier, you get one built in here.

piaware better than planeplotter

It may not have a TXCO (Temperature Compensated Crystal Oscillator), but out of the box this is hands down the best USB dongle for ADS-B I've tried, which include the model, and the NooElec model. Furthest distance seen in the first hour of operation was 240 miles (but not consistently), with the average consistent distance being about 190 miles! Very impressed so far, just installed, so these are preliminary results, but the early results are looking promising. Using a third party high gain antenna, the flightaware filter, (which I installed about a month ago, and also provided about a 10-15% boost), and about 50 feet of LMR 400 cable. Messages per second nearly doubled, and the range increased anywhere from 10-30% (depending on the direction). Instantly had an increase in range and in number of positions per second. I am not normally one to write reviews, but this thing is quite amazing. Judging by the Reviews on Amazon, others agree:

PIAWARE BETTER THAN PLANEPLOTTER PRO

We have 5 Pro Sticks with filters as prizes.īut for just GBP £13,36 on Amazon, this has to be one of the best value DVB-T "dongle" available. I will publish detailed comparisons when I've gathered at least 48 hours data from the Pro Stick.Īnd watch out for our upcoming competition.

piaware better than planeplotter

My BaseStation is running off my SBS-3 using a different external antenna with masthead preamp. I also noticed that the Pro Stick is picking up aircraft flying into my area at least 20 seconds or earlier than they appear on BaseStation. I immediately noticed that my aircraft count and range had increased significantly, as too did the PiAware message count. Both are connected to the FlightAware ADS-B 1090MHz Band-pass SMA Filter, available from Amazon UK for GBP 15.73. In the meantime I will be running comparative tests against my current DVB-T SDR + FlightAware filter and will share the results here in a few days time.Ībout 2 hours ago I swapped my current DVB-T SDR for the Pro Stick. I've been fortunate to obtain a small quantity of Pro Sticks for prizes in a forthcoming Radarspotting competition, details to follow. Some useful info on the FlightAware forum: They're also available on eBay but with shipping charges from the USA. I think the initial supply has already sold out. The Pro Stick will be available through Amazon in a number of areas, including Europe. Clearly it hopes to encourage more PiAware usage and achieve greater ADS-B and MLAT coverage. FlightAware is selling the Pro Stick at cost with no added profit margin.

PIAWARE BETTER THAN PLANEPLOTTER SOFTWARE

The Pro Stick has an SMA connector for use with most ADS-B antennae.įlightAware says it developed the Pro Stick to provide maximum ADS-B performance when used with its free PiAware software or any other device that works with a USB RTLSDR. A few days ago, FlightAware announced it's new Pro Stick, a low cost DVB-T SDR receiver with built-in amplifier.Ĭlaimed to be the first of its kind, offering significant range improvement over traditional USB SDR receivers and less expensive at US $16.95.






Piaware better than planeplotter